SaigonOLPC

Just another WordPress.com weblog

One Week Left! March 22, 2010

Filed under: Vietnam — polyachka @ 11:14 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I returned to Saigon, to its unbearable March heat, crazy traffic and crowded Peace House full of new and old volunteers. The road in front of the house is blocked again due to construction. Oh, no… My room is a mess and I’m melting from inside.  I can hardly function, all sweaty…

But I have to get ready for the class tonight. So I received the videos which are unviewable… Books were not downloaded, Clytie’s letter was not read. And there was no teaching exercise. Plus we have to learn to use the Google translator. We have a lot of catching up to do…

On Sunday I created a Facebook page for the Vietnam XO/Sugar users. I emailed Adam, Nancie, Elsa and Mario about it. I also received letters from Elsa’s boys. She forwarded 6 letters in PDF, which I converted into text docs (see next post why). Here are three of them:

Dear girls,
Hello! My name is Alex! I have a favorite game too. speech. Its awesome! I am 10 years old, and i go to a moderately good school. I am not a fan of school but i talk with my friends at Recess. My favorite subjects are Recess and lunch. Your state is part of our program to get books to you. Its called Room to read. You are my main classes state! We watched a video on your state and it looks awesome! well, i hope to hear from you again!
Alex

Hi, My name is Nathan. I am 10 years old. I am in the 5th grade. I live in Massachusetts. My favorite XO Computer game is Turtle Art. And Record. My favorite color is blue. I like playing a game called capture the flag. You try to take the other team’s flag without getting tagged. What do you like about Vietnam?

Bye!

PS Did you watch the Olympics?

Dear girls,

Hi. My name is Jeff. I love reading. My favorite book is Artemis fowl by Eoin Colfer. What is your favorite book? One of my best friends (Alex) is writing to Huong. Alex says he hates school but I kind of like it. My class is studying your country. We are trying to get books and libraries to your country through a system called room to read. I am in fourth grade. You are probably having trouble reading this.

 

Leave a Reply

