SaigonOLPC

Just another WordPress.com weblog

olpcMAP Sprint: Day Three December 30, 2010

Wednesday was a long day! I was told that Nick “fixed” search, whatever that means…They were brainstorming again about the look of the website and its functional structure… Carol volunteered to help beautify  West Coast dots on the map.  

Nick also tried to explain to me how he made mapping easy on XO and other things, which I didn’t get into details… What I do remember though from my conversation with him is geek’s fashion. He explained that it is not only about who is doing cooler stuff in technical terms, meaning:  “Oh yeah, you work with this, but did you try that or even think of this?” Etc… And surprise, surprise, the same applies to their geek gear! If those two dudes  discussed technical stuff and they realized they are equally cool because both work on equally cool stuff, but one wears plain T-shirt  but another one a T-shirt with digital images, then the one with digital images wins! I was in shock because I had no clue that all those seemingly expired (very often worn out, with no color or pattern recognition) T-shirts are competing against each other!

Also I didn’t think geeks care about this trivial stuff, but bigger things? But no, it turns out, those T-shirts have the most value if they have technical images/terms that support geek’s personal beliefs … Geek’s fashion was one of the biggest revelations of the Map Sprint so far… Thank you, Nick!

And then there was olpcMAP Trivia. What a great experience! All who participated won. This is my kind of game. It doesn’t really matter, that Nick and Benaja won super rare red XOs, and I got a Holiday game from Symantec, which is a customized gift for OLPC supporters. All trivia participants were acknowledged and that counts. Also, Adam had several presents to choose from, which is a great example of customizing incentives for volunteers. He offered sweets or games, and of course I picked the game, because I like them so much and they are very valuable to me, while sweets are not (as incentives).

Thank you, Adam, for making trivia so much fun and enjoyable.

I read Nancies post and I wonder if we need to post  similar trivia questions and answers on the map somewhere ? Since it is nowhere else? It would be great to have unknown facts about OLPC and volunteers on the website, so that people can get educated about the company in interactive way.

By the time my presentation started, there was an audience of about 12 people, and I was very happy to present, as I wanted to share the results of olpcMAP survey about volunteering and its meaning. See next post.

After the presentation we went to Cambridge Brewing Company, where I sat next to Ryan and learned a lot about his new non-profit ephas.org.

For more info check out Nancie’s Blog http://www.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/nsevers/4/1293545944/tpod.html

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.